“I’m Having Their Baby”

The Oxygen Network will be presenting a show entitled “I’m Having Their Baby” on July 23rd, 2012. The show highlights women who will be giving their children up for adoption. The adoptive parents include gay couples, infertile couples, etc. The interesting part is that we see the story from both sides. Oxygen shows us what the birth mother experiences along with the adoptive parents. I believe that it will be interesting to see how the families of both sides feel regarding the adoptions.

I believe that this is a show unlike any other on television at this time. Adoption is rarely discussed, especially from both points of view. Since abortion is such a charged topic, adoption seems to follow. Women who chose to give up their children are looked down upon at times, depending on their situations. Sometimes, society feels better about a woman choosing to give their child up for adoption that abort the pregnancy, but sometimes the situation is reversed. It is even more interesting that adopting a child is seen as a noble cause or creating a family, but giving a child up is looked down upon. Isn’t what a woman does with what is inside her body up to her?

I definitely see birthing a baby to give to someone else as an interesting body project. Anyway, I’m looking forward to this show! Will anyone else watch with me?

2 thoughts on ““I’m Having Their Baby”

  1. “interesting body project”?
    More like the worst mistake a women can ever make for herself and her child. More like exploiting vulnerable women on tv for entertainment value!

    • That is an interesting opinion. I believe a woman have the right to do whatever she wants with her body. If that means using her body to help someone else have a child, it’s her choice and her right. I think the show is a look at both sides of the story: women having a baby for others and families receving children. Personally, it sounds informative. Thanks for your opinion!

Leave a comment